Skip to content

Ontario Election – The best of the worst

October 6, 2011

So I actually voted this time. I didn’t manage for the last federal election because frankly NONE of the party leaders inspired me in the least. For this provincial one at least I like what Dalton is doing… And Hudak looks too weasely (and not in a good Harry Potter way!).

I actually support higher taxes, I just wish that the government could manage to spend more efficiently. I guess bureaucracy is inherently inefficient though; I’m postive that no matter who gets elected the problem would remain.

As usual I’m not even sure who the local candiate is, not that it matters. I think they have to vote with the party leader, otherwise they get kicked out.

I’m also not a hard working ontarian (or Canadian) family, so they’re not really interested in what I want.

Talk about apathy, eh?

You think this is bad you should have seen me for the last federal one. Ignatief was a joke, I’m normally staunch Liberal but with him at the head of the party I couldn’t bring myself to go vote. If they had a “None of the above” section I would have gone and filled that in.

For the time when I do vote I’m always disappointed that proportional representation is something apparently Canadians don’t want. In a 2 party system thats not a problem, but if you end up with like 6 or 7 things can start to get strange mathematically. I know, I know; we’ve got the 3 main parties, with the greens in 4th, and then all the weird ones that probably NO ONE votes for. But still, in the current system it is possible for a party to hold ALL the seats with a low percentage of people voting for them. All they need is 1 more vote then the next highest party in each riding. So I mean potentially in each riding the Liberals could get 24.99%, the NDP 24.99% and the Greens 24.99% and the Conservatives could get 25.03% and BAM, completely majority and they could toute that Canadians voted them in and they’re super great when in fact essentially 3 out of 4 people want to punch them in the face.

So yeah… Politics get me even MORE rambly then usual. Plus I’m still a little sick / tired.

Issac

From → Rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

Filosofa's Word

Cogito Ergo Sum

Still normal.

Ups and down everyday, let us make dailyliving normal.

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

Cosplay Blog... with a Brain!

Just what it says...

Frekki's Cosplay Blog

Tips, Tricks, and Tutorials: A nerdy girl's blog about cosplay and conventions

The Pen and Needle

A Cosplay Blog

cinnamoondotblog.wordpress.com/

It's the scent of Autumn rain. It's the first coffee in the morning. It's a dash of magic in everyday life.

Colorado Chelsea

Hikes and Travels in Colorado and Beyond

Little Free Library

Because not everything makes sense

Simon's Cat

Because not everything makes sense

C'est La Vee

Wish You Were Here